Ofsted requirements


Common inspection framework: education, skills and early years (From September 2015)

In the new Common Inspection Framework, the four key judgements are:

  • The quality of teaching, learning and assessment
  • Personal development, behaviour and welfare
  • Outcomes for pupils
  • Effectiveness of leadership and management.

From September 2015 the key judgement ‘Behaviour and Safety’ is being replaced by the key judgement ‘Personal Development, Behaviour and Welfare’..

Bullying now falls under this new heading: ‘Personal development, behaviour and welfare’.


Adrienne Katz from the Bullying Intervention Group has written this very useful summary of how bullying, safeguarding and e-safety fit within the new framework and how they will be inspected.

Ofsted changes to the Framework for Inspection explained.

Anti-Bullying Works can work with your school to help you to be ‘Ofsted-ready’ in relation to bullying, safeguarding and e-safety: